Beneett’s Classification is used to evaluate Fracture of Tooth in the Coronal and Root fracture. There are other Classifications which are more commonly used called Ellis Classification of Fractured Teeth. In Bennett’s Classfication the fractured teeth are divided into Five types based on fracture of tooth in the Coronal and Root position. Trauma to the tooth can lead to Endodontic Emergencies which should be managed and treated in a timely and keeping in mind many aspects of the tooth in question, as many trauma cases are of children in the mixed dentition stage where the root apex is not developed of permanent teeth.
Bennetts classification of Tooth Fracture

Bennett’s Classification of Tooth Fracture:

Class I: Traumatized Tooth without Coronal or Root Fracture

  1. Tooth Firm in Alveolus
  2. Tooth Subluxed in Alveolus

Class II: Coronal Fracture

  1. Involving Enamel
  2. Involving Enamel and Dentin

Class III: Coronal fracture with Pulpal exposure

Class IV: Root Fracture

  1. Without Coronal fracture
  2. With Coronal fracture

Class V: Avulsion of Tooth

Bennett’s Classification of Tooth Fracture will be used to classify based on the location of the fracture and the layers of tooth involved in it. In Class I, II and IV the Tooth is classified further based on whether the Tooth is Firm or Subluxed in Class Ia (Firm) and Class Ib (subluxed). For Class II cases it is divided further into two types based on involvement of Enamel and Dentin, Class IIa (involves Enamel), Class IIb (Involves Enamel and Dentin) and in Class IV cases where Root Fracture is seen, Class IVa (without Coronal fracture), Class IVb (with Coronal Fracture).

Radiological features seen in Fractured Teeth:

  1. Disruption of the continuity of the tooth surface
  2. Radio lucent line between tooth segments
  3. Displacement of Tooth fragments
  4. Radio lucent line traversing at the midportion of the tooth which suggests fracture of Root
  5. Oblique Fracture will be seen as two separate fractures because of the appearance of the fracture line as two.

Bennett’s Classification is not used commonly when compared to Elli’s classification because Ellis Classification is divided into 9 types. Many clinical features of fractures like Cracks in Enamel which is mostly on the mesial or distal edges of the incisal edges of tooth. And more advanced fractures involve Dentin and then Pulp Exposure with or without Root Fracture, root fractures of anterior teeth are mostly seen in the mid portion of the tooth. All these conditions are caused due to Trauma to the tooth.